2020 Alumnae Award Recipient Announced


Mackenzie Slagle Selected By Joyce Ivy Alumnae

ANN ARBOR, MI, April 25, 2020 – ​The Joyce Ivy Foundation recently announced the names of eighty-three young women receiving 2020 summer scholarships for pre-college study at highly selective colleges and universities. From the group of 2020 Joyce Ivy Foundation Summer Scholars, Mackenzie Slagle, a junior at Toledo Christian Schools in Toledo, Ohio, has been selected to receive the 2020 Alumnae Scholarship.

Since 2013, alumnae of the Joyce Ivy Foundation Summer Scholars program have engaged in an annual “Pay It Forward” fundraising campaign to support a scholarship for a current Summer Scholar. To date, the Joyce Ivy Foundation has named 881 Summer Scholars, including eighty-three members of the 2020 cohort. The alumnae campaign seeks to collect small donations from alumnae, as well as donations alumnae raise in their local communities, to support a scholarship.

“I am grateful to work with such an amazing group of Fellows on this year’s fundraising campaign,” said Lena Lee, JIF ’18 and Joyce Ivy Senior Fellow for Development. “They continue to amaze me with their creativity, perseverance, and passion to pay it forward for future Summer Scholars. When I attended my summer program at Brown University in 2018, I not only gained an incredible experience, but I also gained a support network of past and current Summer Scholars who were there to help me in any way they could. Being a part of the Joyce Ivy community has been an invaluable experience to me because I am able to surround myself with people who inspire me to challenge myself and do what I love. I am excited for future Summer Scholars to attend their summer programs and be a part of this wonderful community!”

Mackenzie Slagle has been selected as the 2020 recipient of the Alumnae Scholarship. Mackenzie holds a number of leadership roles within her high school and community, including Flute Section Leader in her high school band, Varsity Tennis Team Captain, Quiz Bowl Captain (her team qualified for Nationals!), and Student Leader within her high school’s House system. She is also a highly involved Theatre Troupe participant and works part-time throughout the year.

​”Mackenzie is a true trailblazer and sets an example for other young women,” said Allison Jegla, JIF ’10, Vice President for Program Development and member of the Summer Scholars Selection Committee. “We were extremely impressed by every component of Mackenzie’s application. She steps up to leadership positions even in situations in which she is the only female participant, and she is universally respected by peers and teachers alike. We are extremely proud to have Mackenzie join our community and look forward to standing behind her as she continues to reach for the stars.”

​”I am incredibly grateful and humbled to have been chosen as the 2020 recipient of the Alumnae Scholarship, and I am thankful beyond words for this fabulous opportunity,” said Mackenzie Slagle. “I am looking forward to meeting a wonderful network of people at Brown University with a shared passion for the environment. This scholarship will not only assist me in my scientific and scholarly pursuits, but it will provide me with an unparalleled chance to explore and impact the world around me. The encouragement of the Joyce Ivy Foundation has inspired me. I promise, through hard work and dedication, to use this fantastic opportunity to spark a transformation within myself as well as within my community. I am so honored that the Joyce Ivy Foundation has chosen to invest in and support me as I embark on this journey. I cannot wait to see where this amazing and exciting road will lead!”

The 2020 Joyce Ivy Foundation Summer Scholars were selected from one the largest and most talented applicant pools in the Foundation’s history. Summer Scholars have the opportunity to study at 11 partner colleges and universities: Barnard College, Brown University, Cornell University, Emory University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Smith College, Stanford University, Washington University in St. Louis, and Yale University.

The 2020 Scholars, along with the Joyce Ivy Leader of the Year and Women of Impact award recipients will be honored at the 15th Annual Gala in Detroit on October 3, 2020.