79 Named Joyce Ivy Summer Scholars


ANN ARBOR, MI, March 29, 2019 – The Joyce Ivy Foundation today announced the names of seventy-nine young women selected to receive scholarships to participate in summer pre-college academic programs at the Foundation’s partner colleges and universities, including Barnard College, Brown University, Cornell University, Emory University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Smith College, Stanford University, Washington University in St. Louis, and Yale University.

The 2019 Summer Scholars come from all seven of the Midwestern states currently supported by the Foundation – Michigan, Ohio, Nebraska, Missouri, Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota – and attend 64 different secondary schools. This year’s recipients were selected from the largest applicant pool in the Foundation’s history, 544 applications in total.

“Our 2019 review process was particularly competitive,” said Maya Raiman, Co-Chair of the Selection Committee and a Joyce Ivy Foundation Board Member. “With a record number of applications, we had to make challenging decisions for a limited number of spots. Our applicants impressed us with their academic excellence, involvement in their communities, and resolve to seek opportunities beyond their current environment. We thank our applicants for sharing their voices and stories with us.”

For Scholars who come from schools that calculate GPA or class rank, 82% reported a 4.0 GPA or higher and 20% rank first or second in their class. Over 65% qualify for the highest level of need-based scholarship and 37% will be first generation in their family to attend a four-year college.​

“Our 2019 Summer Scholars are incredibly impressive ,” said Brittany Knight, Executive Director of the Joyce Ivy Foundation. “From the Upper Peninsula to Detroit, Appalachia to Cleveland, these young women represent the talent and potential that the Midwest has to offer. We are eager for them to launch into their summer experiences.”

Two of the 2019 Summer Scholars will also be recipients of special named awards, including the Mary Vandewiele Leadership Award and the Joyce Ivy Alumnae Supported Scholarship. The Foundation will announce the 2019 award recipients next week.

A total of eleven 2019 Scholars are participants in Minds Matter, a national organization that provides lower-income students with multi-year college preparatory mentoring and support. The Joyce Ivy Foundation, Minds Matter Cleveland, Minds Matter Detroit and Minds Matter Twin Cities will jointly fund the scholarships for the Minds Matter Scholars, in collaboration with the summer program partners. In addition, a total of three 2019 Scholars are students at the University Prep Charter Network in Detroit. Through a joint partnership, the Joyce Ivy Foundation and UPrep Schools will fund the scholarships for the University Prep Scholars.

The 2019 Summer Scholars will be honored at the annual Scholars Gala on May 18 in Ypsilanti, Michigan, featuring an address by the 2019 Joyce Ivy Foundation Leader of the Year, Faye Nelson, Michigan Director of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. The Foundation will also honor four Women of Impact award recipients: Anna Clark, Journalist and Author of The Poisoned City: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy; Allison Drutchas, Policy and Product Counsel, Waymo; Dr. Asha Shajahan, Medical Director of Community Health, Beaumont Health – Grosse Pointe; and Stella Safari, Director of gBETA Detroit.

The 2019 Summer Scholars

Divya Aggarwal, Troy High School
Mlaika Azhar, International Academy of Macomb
MacKenzie Bucki, Airport Senior High School
Maria Cheriyan, Detroit Country Day School
Aricka Croxton, University Prep Academy
Bethany Gallaher, International Academy of Bloomfield Hills
Ahmari Garrett, University Prep Science & Math High School
Grace Gyolai, Milan High School
Noor Kaffarani, Crestwood High School
Sridula Kallakuri, Washtenaw International High School
Katherine Klassa, Crestwood High School
YoungSeo Lee, Huron High School
Elizabeth Li, Huron High School
Gabriela Lopez-Salgado, Everett High School
Senia Manson, Houghton High School
Lisa Mathew, Washtenaw International High School
Eva McCord, Grosse Pointe South High School
Grace McIntosh, Mount Pleasant High School
Rachel Nkrumah, Washtenaw International High School
Khushi Patel, Wayne Memorial High School
Shweta Pati, Houghton High School
Priya Patterson-Lee, University Prep Science & Math High School
Erin Roberts, Wylie E Groves High School
Sadorian Robertson, Ferndale High School
Riley Schornak, Petoskey High School
Roxzanne Sprowl, Marquette Senior High School
Mahima Srikanth, Stoney Creek High School
Mahbuba Sumiya, Benjamin Carson High School of Science and Medicine
Tarin Taylor, Cornerstone Health and Technology High School
Supasinee Trakanrungsi, Pioneer High School
Taylar Uimari, Marquette Senior High School

Daleelah Ali, Our Lady of The Elms
Meranda Coleman, Jackson High School
Sydney Cummings, Cleveland Early College High School
Misrach Ewunetie, Villa-Angela St. Joseph High School
Faith Griffiths, Ashland High School
Claudia Jennings, Madeira High School
Kayla Johnson, Willoughby South High School
Nevaeh Larkin, Cleveland Early College High School
Sarah Latzke, Olentangy Liberty High School
Shoshana Lavetter-Keidan, Maumee Valley Country Day School
Tejasvini Malakalapalli, New Albany High School
Emerson McSparran, Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy
Abigail Munn, Jackson High School
Noel Pacheco, Cleveland School of the Arts
Daade Pack, Euclid High School
Cecile Schreidah, Sylvania Northview High School
Aaminah Shahnawaz, Fairfield Senior High School
Jazae Smith, Cleveland School of Science and Medicine
Helena Stacy, Jackson High School
Keri Tomechko, Revere High School
Patricia Walker, Cleveland Early College High School
Molly Wimer, Kettering Fairmont High School
Chloe Zelch, Western Reserve Academy

Rachel Beard, Louisiana High School
Romina Diaz-Rivero, Fox Senior High School
Amira McKee, Rock Bridge High School
Ann Nguyen, Ewing Marion Kauffman School
Emily Schweiss, Fulton High School
Isabel Trindade, Hickman High School

Mariah Kreykes, Loyola Catholic School
Mai Lee, Highland Park Senior High School
Anjili Lo, Eagan High School
Nimo Mohamed, Como Park Senior High School
Soliana Teshome, Hopkins High School

North Dakota
Erica Flores, North High School
Brynn Kroke, Dakota Prairie High School
Anchee Nitschke Durben, Fargo South High School
Bree Pederson, Wahpeton High School

Maryam Akramova, Westside High School
Jennifer Benitez-Jaimes, Omaha South High School
Emma Bixler, Neligh-Oakdale High School
Cynthia France, Westside High School
Reese Pike, Westside High School
Keilly Ponce-Merida, Omaha South High School
Rosalia Ruiz, Omaha South High School
Madison VanWynGarden, Elkhorn High School
Janie Xu, Brownell Talbot

South Dakota
Allison Ondricek, T.F. Riggs High School

About The Joyce Ivy Foundation
The Joyce Ivy Foundation seeks to provide exposure, encouragement, and financial assistance to young women who have the academic, intellectual, and leadership potential to attend the nation’s most selective institutions of higher education. Funding for the Joyce Ivy Foundation is provided by individuals, other foundations, and corporations. Since its founding in 2006, the Foundation named 798 students from Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, and South Dakota as Joyce Ivy Scholars, providing scholarships for them to attend summer educational programs at partner college summer programs, and providing or leveraging $4.2 million in scholarship funding. For more information, please visit www.joyceivyfoundation.org or contact the Joyce Ivy Foundation at info@joyceivyfoundation.org or (734) 661-0229.