84 Named Joyce Ivy Summer Scholars


ANN ARBOR, MI, March 30, 2018 – The Joyce Ivy Foundation today announced the names of eighty-four young women selected to receive scholarships to participate in summer pre-college academic programs at the Foundation’s partner colleges and universities, including Barnard College, Brown University, Cornell University, Emory University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Smith College, Stanford University, Washington University in St. Louis, and Yale University.

The 2018 Summer Scholars come from all seven of the Midwestern states currently supported by the Foundation – Michigan, Ohio, Nebraska, Missouri, Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota – and attend 72 different secondary schools. This year’s recipients were selected from one of the largest applicant pools in the Foundation’s history.

“Scholar selection and review is always our favorite time of the year at the Joyce Ivy Foundation,” said Maya Aravind, Co-Chair of the Selection Committee and a Joyce Ivy Foundation Board Member. “This year’s pool impressed us with their academic achievements, their leadership and involvements, and most importantly, their drive and determination to seek educational opportunities. Our review was competitive – about one in every three applicants was selected to be a Scholar.”

For Scholars who come from schools that calculate GPA or class rank, 71% have a 4.0 GPA and 40% rank first or second in their class. Over 57% qualify for the highest level of need-based scholarship and 31% will be first generation in their family to attend a four-year college.

“Reviewing this applicant pool was inspiring,” said Brittany Carlson, Executive Director of the Joyce Ivy Foundation. “Our selected Scholars have vision and purpose not just for themselves, but for their communities and our world. We feel lucky to play a role in their journeys as they continue to broaden their academic aspirations and stretch their comfort zones.”

Two of the 2018 Summer Scholars will also be recipients of special named awards, including the Mary Vandewiele Leadership Award and the Joyce Ivy Alumnae Supported Scholarship. The Foundation will announce the 2018 award recipients next week.

A total of nine 2018 Scholars are participants in Minds Matter, a national organization that provides lower-income students with multi-year college preparatory mentoring and support. The Joyce Ivy Foundation, Minds Matter Cleveland, and Minds Matter Twin Cities will jointly fund the scholarships for the Minds Matter Scholars, in collaboration with the summer program partners.

The 2018 Summer Scholars will be honored at the annual Scholars Gala on May 12 in Ypsilanti, Michigan, featuring an address by the 2018 Joyce Ivy Foundation Leader of the Year, Dr. Janet Reid, founder and CEO of BRBS World and founding partner and Director (retired) of Global Novations. The Foundation will also honor four Women of Impact award recipients: Nia Batts & Katie Cockrel, Co-Founders, Detroit Blows; Cynthia Shih, Performing Songwriter & Management Consultant, McKinsey & Co; and Tiffany Taylor, Deputy Chief People Officer, Teach For America.

The 2018 Summer Scholars

Aderinola Adunbi, Pioneer High School
Kathryn Agar, Zeeland East High School
Nisreen Alibeg, Star International Academy
Carolina Ballesteros, Comstock High School
Sumayah Basal, Washtenaw Technical Middle College
Lauren Chalker, Mercy High School
Asha Criner, Berkley High School
Isabel Dziuba, West Bloomfield High School
Rana Elladki, Crestwood High School
Safa Farrukh, Washtenaw International High School
Jessica Goldberg, North Farmington High School
Alejandra Gonzalez, Notre Dame Preparatory
Aubrey Hoekema, Grandville High School
Jordan Hunter, Grosse Pointe South High School
Mya Kaffarani, Crestwood High School
Madeleine Lee, Pioneer High School
Jasmin Lee, West Bloomfield High School
Raenah Lindsey, East Grand Rapids High School
Madeline Maes, International Academy of Macomb
Kathryn Marentette, Thornapple Kellogg High School
Samyia Martin, University Preparatory Academy High School
Mia Moberly, Trenton High School
Madison Morgan, Boyne City High School
Neha Narayan, Salem High School
Kourtney Newberry, University Prep Science and Math High School
Elisabeth Petrosky, Charlevoix High School
Lexy Schusterbrown, Wylie E Groves High School
Durga Shanker, West Bloomfield High School
Mira Simonton, Community High School
Arundhathy Suresh, Pioneer High School
Kaitlyn Tipton, Three Rivers High School
Nicole Tooley, Community High School
Love Tsai, Homeschool
Hope Tsai, Homeschool
Desai Wang, Cranbrook Kingswood School

Haneen Abdel-Nabi, Cleveland School of Science and Medicine
Alison Bachowski, Emmanuel Christian Academy
Kayla Burns, Hawken School
Lena Caruso, Dublin Coffman High School
Chiamaka Chukwu, Cleveland School of Science and Medicine
Elizabeth D’Sa, Bishop Watterson High School
Anna Edmiston, Arlington High School
Madilyn Flandermeyer, Batavia High School
Julia Hontaruk-Levko, Saint Joseph Academy
Zaria Johnson, Hawken School
Madison Jones, Kettering Fairmont High School
Lea Kim, Solon High School
Alexis Lash, Berea-Midpark High School
Yoon Seo Lee, Upper Arlington High School
Niyah Malone, Saint Martin de Porres High School
Emma Matthews, Jackson High School
Elizabeth Mesecar, Revere High School
Allison Mikolanis, Gilmour Academy
Nevaeh Miller, Cleveland School of Science and Medicine
Janya Robinson, Euclid High School
Megan Shaffer, Lakota West High School
Cristiana Speece, Kenston High School
Meghana Tandon, Westlake High School
Kathryn Vatke, New Albany High School
Lilianna Waugh, Jackson High School
Olivia Wrayno, Wickliffe High School
Stephanie Yen, Beachwood High School

Ashley Barth, Rolla High School
Love Gardner, Cameron High School
Victoria Lofland, Pattonvile High School
Emma Milroy, Winnetonka High School
Cecelia Moss, Raymore Peculiar High School
Agnes Nash, Central Academy of Excellence
Vanessa Onuoha, Fort Zumalt West High School
Eliza Shaffer, Pembroke Hill High School

Ilhaan Abdulle, St. Louis Park High School
Yasmin Aden, Southwest High School
Shalom Berhane, St. Louis Park High School
Sierra Erdman-Luntz, The Blake School
Mustakh Mohammed, St. Louis Park High School
Michaela Polley, St. Paul Academy and Summit School

North Dakota
Tegan Amundson, Richland 44
Savanna Friedt, Carrington High School
Hanna Johnson, Richland High School
Ella Zhang, Red River High School

Sarah Altman, Papillion LaVista High School
Michelle Saqui Cortes, Ralston High School
Monzeratt Valentin, Omaha South High School

South Dakota
Marina Du, Brookings High School

About The Joyce Ivy Foundation
The Joyce Ivy Foundation seeks to provide exposure, encouragement, and financial assistance to young women who have the academic, intellectual, and leadership potential to attend the nation’s most selective institutions of higher education. Funding for the Joyce Ivy Foundation is provided by individuals, other foundations, and corporations. Since its founding in 2006, the Foundation named 719 students from Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, and South Dakota as Joyce Ivy Scholars, providing scholarships for them to attend summer educational programs at partner college summer programs, and providing or leveraging $3.7 million in scholarship funding. For more information, please visit www.joyceivyfoundation.org or contact the Joyce Ivy Foundation at info@joyceivyfoundation.org or (734) 661-0229.