Joyce Ivy Names 67 Summer Scholars, Including First from Indiana


Ann Arbor, Mich — The Joyce Ivy Foundation today announced the names of sixty-seven young women selected to receive scholarships to participate in summer pre-college academic programs at the Foundation’s partner colleges and universities, including Barnard College, Brown University, Dartmouth College, Georgetown University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Smith College, Spelman College, the University of California at Berkeley, and Yale University. 

The 2024 Summer Scholars come from seven of the Midwestern states currently supported by the Foundation – Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Nebraska, Missouri, Minnesota, and South Dakota – and attend 47 different secondary schools. 

The Summer Scholars Selection Committee was chaired by Summer Scholar Alumnae, Katharine Janes, JIF ‘12 and Abril Rangel Pacheco, JIF ‘13. The Committee included members of the Foundation’s senior leadership, as well as six additional Summer Scholar Alumnae who serve on the Board of Directors and Associate Board of Directors. 

“The young women in this year’s Summer Scholars cohort rose to the top from an incredibly competitive applicant pool,” said Janes and Pacheco. “We were impressed, in particular, by their academic excellence, community involvement, leadership, and passionate ambition. These sixty-seven future Scholars embody the values of the Joyce Ivy Foundation, and we are honored to welcome them into the Joyce Ivy community.”

For Scholars who come from schools that calculate GPA or class rank, 75% reported a 4.0 GPA or higher and 16 rank first or second in their high school class. The 2024 Summer Scholars are representative of a variety of lived experiences and perspectives: 64% identify as women of color, including 20 Black Scholars, 15 Asian Scholars, 4 multiracial Scholars, 3 Latina Scholars, and 1 Native American Scholar. Nearly 40% are first generation to attend college and over half qualify for the highest level of need-based scholarship.

“Launching into a new state – Indiana – makes this cohort especially distinctive,” said Brittany Knight, Executive Director of the Joyce Ivy Foundation. “We are grateful to the generous donors who made this expansion possible and are thrilled to support four fantastic young women from Indiana this year. We know the opportunity to join the Joyce Ivy community will have a tremendous impact on each one of these sixty-seven young women.”

Four of the 2024 Summer Scholars will also be recipients of special named awards, including the Mary Vandewiele Leadership Award and the Joyce Ivy Alumnae Supported Scholarship. New for 2024, the Foundation will also distribute its inaugural First Five Scholar Award and Steve Carlson Perseverance Award, awards made possible by generous endowed gifts to the Foundation. The recipients of these awards will be announced later this month. 

Five Scholars in the 2024 cohort are participants in Minds Matter, a national organization that provides lower-income students with multi-year college preparatory mentoring and support. The Joyce Ivy Foundation, Minds Matter Cleveland, Minds Matter Detroit, and Minds Matter Twin Cities will jointly fund the scholarships for the Minds Matter Scholars, in collaboration with the summer program partners. 

This year’s cohort is also distinctive for its level of sisterhood, with two pairs of twins and several younger sisters of previous Summer Scholars.

The 2024 Summer scholars will be honored at the 19th annual Summer Scholars Gala on May 11, 2024 at 6 pm in Lathrup Village, Michigan. Kate Trumbull, the Joyce Ivy Foundation Leader of the Year and Senior Vice President and Chief Brand Officer of Domino’s, will deliver an address. The Gala will also honor two Woman of Impact award recipients, climate tech startup founder Anisha Gupta and Detroit restaurateur Ping Ho. Ticket sales and sponsorship for the Gala can be found here.

The 2024 Summer Scholars:


Savannah Burns

Daisy Fenno

MaKaela Gist

Alesya Rathinasamy



Piper Barnard

Mst Begum

Claudia-Laverne Bosworth

Julia Callahan

Zuha Danial

Lara Hammoud

Maya Hammoud

Jiayue Huang

Jada Jordan

Lauren King

Lianne Liu

Cydney Mayberry

Aileen Mongkau

Damiah Moore

Stephanie Ndukwe

Divya Nelluri

Allison Pearl

Sanjana Ramesh

Dinah Smith

Catherine Taft

Nandita Talluri

Jessica Wu

Habiba Chowdhury



Gabriella Hudson

Abigail Hudson

Alecia Jendro

Amina Mohamed

Amina Omar

Selamawit Tenaye

Tiffany Tran

Jolena Young

Briana Zambrano



Claire Li

Chloee Louis-Loradin

Isabel Morris

Anaya Owens



Micaiah-Anna McTizic-Henderson

Lindsey Pereyra Damian

Anahi Torres



Ava Bauschatz

Camryn Bir

Jeorgia Butler

Sarah Gebremeskel

Elisabeth Govia

Gabrielle Hoye

Kaitlin Johnson

Estella Li

Cindy Ma

Emma Malone

Alicia McDuffie

Adelyn McGarry

Rhea Pasupuleti

Rojita Rai

Manya Tandon

Miriam Tesfay

Kenn’Sha Ward

Na’Asia Watkins

Maureen Wilson

Sophia Zhuchyk


South Dakota

Monica Ajith

Meridien Hailu

Sky Kane

Betelihiem Tecleab