President and CEO of AF Group, Lisa Corless, Named 2022 Joyce Ivy Foundation Leader of the Year


Ann Arbor, MI, March 7, 2022 – The Joyce Ivy Foundation announced today that it has named Lisa Corless, President and CEO of AF Group, as its 2022 Leader of the Year.

Lisa Corless is president and CEO of AF Group, a national holding company whose affiliated insurance companies are premier providers of innovative, specialty insurance solutions. In her role, she is responsible for oversight of AF Group and its brands as they develop and execute critical strategic goals and innovations to ensure success over the long-term. Having spent her 30-year career sharing her passion for the insurance industry, her influence has earned great respect, not to mention a number of significant professional honors, including the Woman of Influence award from the Austin Business Journal for her efforts in both business and philanthropy, and the 2017 Women to Watch award from Business Insurance.

“’Corless’ brand of leadership is something that has inspired us at the Joyce Ivy Foundation and know it will inspire the next generation of women leaders too,” said Valerie Brader, a former Leader of the Year who serves on the Joyce Ivy board.  “We are excited to show that Midwest women with the kind of talent and drive Corless shows every day can succeed professionally at the highest level.  Her leadership now – and theirs in the future – will make a difference in the lives of their employees and their communities.”

The Joyce Ivy Foundation provides summer academic scholarships to high-achieving female high school students from the Midwest. Selected Scholars participate in summer programs at Joyce Ivy partner institutions, including some of the nation’s most rigorous colleges and universities: Barnard, Brown, Cornell, Emory, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, MIT, Smith, the University of Chicago, Washington University in St Louis, and Yale.

The Foundation also holds virtual and in person college admissions workshops and symposia, which provide critical information to over 500 high school students, families, counselors, community-based organization leaders, and educators throughout the Midwest annually. ​​

Each year, the Joyce Ivy Foundation names a Leader of the Year who has achieved notable success and demonstrated impact throughout her career. The Leader of the Year embodies a relentless pursuit of her own educational and professional goals and serves as a powerful example of female empowerment and leadership for the Scholars. The Leader of the Year is celebrated in conjunction with the group of selected Summer Scholars at the Joyce Ivy Foundation’s annual spring Gala.

“It is such a meaningful and tremendous privilege to be recognized with this award,” said Lisa Corless. “To me, the real honor goes to the Joyce Ivy Foundation for their tireless commitment to helping young women reach their fullest potential by providing access to college scholarships, leadership development opportunities and mentorship. I’m honored to be a representative of this amazing effort as we partner to ignite a passion in the female leaders of tomorrow.”

Throughout her career, Ms. Corless has been a tireless advocate for the industry as a mentor and friend, encouraging young women to find their voice while exploring the amazing opportunities available in insurance. Corless holds an executive Master of Business Administration from the University of Texas at Austin – The Red McCombs School of Business. Additionally, she is a member of C200, a global organization focused on promoting the advancement of women in business. She serves on the Board of Directors for the National Council on Compensation Insurance, the American Property Casualty Insurance Association and the Lansing Economic Area Partnership (LEAP).

Ms. Corless and her husband reside in Okemos, Mich., have two daughters and three grandchildren (as well as several dogs and cats). She’s a music lover, a Texas Longhorn (who loves the MSU Spartans), an advocate for strong healthcare in her community, and a champion of diversity and inclusion to bring real and lasting change that makes our world a better place.

Ms. Corless will be honored during the 17th Annual Joyce Ivy Foundation Summer Scholars Gala, which will be held both virtually and in-person at the Westin Book Cadillac in Detroit on Saturday, May 14, at 6 pm ET. During the event, she will address the 2022 Summer Scholars as they prepare for their summer program participation.

Past recipients of the Joyce Ivy Foundation Leader of the Year Award include: Rosalind Brewer, CEO of Walgreens (2021); Chief Justice Bridget Mary McCormack, Michigan Supreme Court (2020); Faye Nelson, Michigan Director of the WK Kellogg Foundation (2019); Dr. Janet Reid, Chief Executive Officer of BRBS World (2018); Jocelyn Benson, Chief Executive Officer of Ross Initiative in Sports for Equality (RISE) (2017); Susan L. Blount, Executive Vice President and General Counsel of Prudential (retired) (2016); Valerie J. M. Brader, Executive Director of the Michigan Agency for Energy (2015); Lisa A. Payne, Vice Chairman and Chief Financial Officer of Taubman Centers, Inc. (2014); Lucy Clark Dougherty, Vice President and General Counsel of General Motors North America (2013); Deanna Mulligan, CEO of Guardian Life Insurance Company of America (2012); and Kim Schatzel, Dean of the University of Michigan – Dearborn College of Business (2011).

For 2022 Gala sponsorship opportunities, please contact Nadia Schreiber at